Sigma Theta Tau International and The Elsevier Foundation announce 2016-2017 Nurse Faculty Leadership Academy Participants | Southwestern College Professional Studies

Bachelor and Master Degrees from Southwestern College - Professional Studies

Fall Session 2 classes begin September 24 Apply Today!

Call Now 1.888.684.5335 or Email Us

Sigma Theta Tau International and The Elsevier Foundation announce 2016-2017 Nurse Faculty Leadership Academy Participants

Sigma Theta Tau International and The Elsevier Foundation announce 2016-2017 Nurse Faculty Leadership Academy Participants

INDIANAPOLIS — The Honor Society of Nursing, Sigma Theta Tau International (STTI) and The Elsevier Foundation today announced the participants and faculty comprising the 2016-2017 Nurse Faculty Leadership Academy (NFLA). STTI’s International Leadership Institute administers the academy mentoring program thanks to a generous grant from The Elsevier Foundation.

The NFLA is a highly selective, 20-month mentored leadership academy designed to:

• Foster academic career success.
• Promote nurse faculty retention and satisfaction.
• Encourage personal leadership development.
• Cultivate high-performing, supportive work environments in academe.

The NFLA supports the recommendations of the 2010 Institute of Medicine report, “The Future of Nursing: Leading Change, Advancing Health,” that calls for “health organizations, including nursing organizations and nursing schools, to provide nurses greater opportunities to gain leadership skills and put them into practice.” The NFLA pairs aspiring full-time, non-tenured faculty leaders, called scholars, with experienced leadership mentors, supported by NFLA faculty members. The academy curriculum includes a variety of educational strategies for developing leadership knowledge, competence, and outcomes.

“This new group of Leadership Mentors and Scholars represents a great addition to the community of nurse leaders that has evolved over the years as a result of this program,” said David Ruth, executive director of The Elsevier Foundation. “We are proud to sponsor this program for a third time, especially because it continues to build a learning and sharing network that improves nursing education and healthcare.”

“I congratulate all the new Nurse Faculty Leadership Academy participants,” said STTI President Cathy Catrambone, PhD, RN, FAAN. “These individuals have an unparalleled opportunity not only to learn from thought leaders, but also to transform their colleges and universities by applying that knowledge as they train future generations of nurses worldwide.”

For more than 90 years, STTI has honored the best and brightest women and men in nursing. The honor society provides nurses with programs, resources, and opportunities such as those offered through the International Leadership Institute, including the NFLA. For more information about the NFLA, visit


2016-2017 Nurse Faculty Leadership Academy Participants


Tamatha Arms, DNP, PMHNP-BC, NP-C

University of North Carolina Wilmington

Lisa Barnes, DNP, RN

East Carolina University

Lanell Bellury, PhD, RN, AOCNS, OCN

Mercer University

Cynthia Bemis, DNP, RN, NE-BC

Indiana University

Temeaka Gray, PsyD, MBA, MSN, CNP, RN

University of Toledo

Stephanie Jeffers, PhD, RN

Widener University

Sara Kaylor, EdD, RN, CNE

The University of Alabama

Monica Kidder, DNP, RN-BC, CNE

Covenant Health 

Charlotte Swint, DNP, FNP-BC, MPH, MSN, RN

Clayton State University

Sandra O'Brien, PhD, RN, CRNP-F, PHCNS-BC

The Catholic University of America

Angela Opsahl, DNP, RN, CPHQ

Indiana University

Judy Ponder, DNP, RN

Berea College

Amber Pyatt, DNP, RN

Southwestern College Professional Studies

Malinda Whitlow, DNP, FNP-BC, RN

George Washington University


Leadership Mentors

Diane Billings, EdD, RN, FAAN, ANEF

Indiana University

Susan Buchholz, PhD, RN

Rush University

Judy Didion, PhD, MSN, CNS

Lourdes University

Mary Ellen Glasgow, PhD, RN, ACNS-BC, ANEF, FAAN

Duquesne University

Denise Gormley, PhD, RN

University of Cincinnati

LaNell Harrison, PhD, RN

Lubbock Christian University

Sara Horton-Deutsch, PhD, RN, PMHCNS, FAAN, ANEF, Certified Caritas Coach and HeartMath Trainer

University of Colorado-Denver

Donna Konradi, PhD, CNE, RN

University of Indianapolis

Nanette Lavoie-Vaughan, DNP, ANP-C

East Carolina University

Bette Mariani, PhD, RN

Villanova University

Barbara Penprase, PhD, RN, CNE, ANEF

Oakland University

Martha Scheckel, PhD, RN

Winona State University

Kathleen Shannon-Dorcy, PhD, RN

University of Washington Tacoma

Teresa Shellenbarger, PhD, RN, CNE, ANEF

Indiana University of Pennsylvania


Faculty Advisors

Laura Dzurec , PhD, PMHCNS-BC, ANEF

Widener University School of Nursing

D. Anthony Forrester , PhD, RN, ANEF, FAAN

Rutgers University School of Nursing

Barbara M.  Friesth , PhD, RN

Indiana University

Barbara Patterson , PhD, ANEF

Widener University School of Nursing

Elizabeth Peter , PhD, RN

University of Toronto


Lead Faculty Advisor

Gwen Sherwood, PhD, RN, FAAN ANEF

University of North Carolina Chapel Hill

Susan Sportsman , PhD, RN, ANEF, FAAN

Elsevier Education

Carol Winters , PhD, RN, CNE

East Carolina University


NFLA Leadership Consultant


Deborah Cleeter, EdD, MSN, RN

Sawgrass Leadership Institute